Scribing around a "squashed cone" shape...

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

Lt. Z0mBe

Scribing around a "squashed cone" shape...

Post by Lt. Z0mBe »

Wise and Sagely Modelers,

I have been rescribing panel lines for a long time now. I've got my own system that works perfectly for me, complete with some custom tools. I've scribed just about every kind of line, rivet, vent, and access door you can imagine in sci-fi. But, I have happened upon something I've never tried to scribe before: A propeller hub that's a "squashed cone" shape.

Basically, I need to scribe lines around the hub dome that run parallel to the base of the hub. When viewed from the side, they should look like this: ||||, with the right side being the tip of the hub. Oh, did I mention I do not have a lathe?

The hub is too small for label tape - it lifts up - and I can't seem to get a perfect line all the way around with double-layered masking tape. There's nothing flexible enough I can hold in my hand to wrap around the hub either.

I ask the Council of Styrene and Resin this: Have you all ever attempted such a feat? Can it be done safely? Should I hire a professional?

Any tips or advice, as always, would be greatly appreciated. Now, back to the workbench. :)

Thanks,

Kenny

www.sigmalabsinc.com

Onward, proud eagle, to thee the cloud must yield.
Kylwell

Post by Kylwell »

Can you just hold the cone against a flat surface (like the orkbench) & mount the scriber to a board of the correct height and just walk it around the cone? Or is it too small for that?

My trick it to CA it to a rod and chuck it into my lathe, but you migh be able to do the same with a drill. Hard part is holding the scriber steady & working lightly.
Abolish Alliteration
Treadhead

Post by Treadhead »