Need putty Help

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

Stilgar

Need putty Help

Post by Stilgar »

Well...Im new at this....
I went and got some Bondo putty as advised. It seemed to apply ok in some seams. I let it dry awhile and then sanded. Looked even better. Then it dried overnight or more. Now it no longer has a smooth appearance. It looks grainy....alot....almost powdery....

What did I do wrong??

All help appreciated!!

Stilgar
Digger1

Post by Digger1 »

Maybe the sanding?

Did you increase the grit of the sandpaper from let's say 600 to 800 and so on to smooth it out?
Stilgar

Post by Stilgar »

Yes I did. I started with 800 grit and finished with 1200. It looked smooth when I left it. Then it dried more and changed......
USSARCADIA

Post by USSARCADIA »

Are you wet sanding?
Did you eat your Chocolate Frosted Sugar Bombs this morning?
Stilgar

Post by Stilgar »

errr...no....
I guess I need that explained. I have electronics in the model, so I cant really 'put it in the sink' so to speak...

Can someone explain wet sanding in detail please? And....would that make the difference?

Stilgar
Digger1

Post by Digger1 »

it's either sanding under running water or making the sandpaper or sanding stick moist enough to give it a little lube. It really helps out.

Also, maybe you got a bad batch? That's never happened to me before. Although what I generally do it putty, scrape off the excess immediately and then sand about a day later.
HWR MKII

Post by HWR MKII »

Your bondo was dry when you sanded it. the problem is that it does what bondo does best. It shrinks. You need to go get a tube of the orange spot and glazing putty to put over that and give it a finish sanding. What you experinced is quite common.
Stock trader "This is a stock exchange, theres no money tou can steal here."

Bane "Really?! Then why are you people here?
woozle