Decals before or after application of testors gloss cote

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

muir318

Decals before or after application of testors gloss cote

Post by muir318 »

Hello again guys!
As i have said in previous posts i am new to the hobby and before i start on my various star wars kits i have bought i thought i would practice first on a generic plane kit to practice my seam filling, puttying,sanding etc etc,

My question is do i add the decals before or after i add a spray of testors gloss cote?

Thanks in advance for all answers!
Scott Hasty

Post by Scott Hasty »

Gloss
Decal
Gloss
Dull

This can vary depending on how you weather your model
I am fearful when I see people substituting fear for reason
irishtrek

Post by irishtrek »

Testors or just about any brand of gloss coat will yellow over time, and about the only exception to that is Future floor polish. It costs about 5 or 6 dollars for a good sozed bottle and it cleans up with water because it's acrilic based and it can be run through an airbrush.
Normal?? What is normal??
southwestforests

Post by southwestforests »

Reason for glosscoating before decals is that matte, flat, paints have a surface which under a microscope looks like sandpaper - that is how they break up light reflection.

Laying a decal over that is like laying a sheet of paper on a gravel road, it only touches the high points - that is what causes what is called 'silvering'

Gloss has a smooth surface which allows decals to make contact at all points.
"There are a thousand things that can happen when you go light a rocket engine, and only one of them is good."
Tom Mueller of SpaceX, in Air and Space, Jan. 2011
Agent Orange

Post by Agent Orange »

is that why some decals crinkle when sprayed with a gloss-coat sealer?

Steve
"You Klingon Son, you killed my Bastard!"
Glorfindel

Post by Glorfindel »