Sanding sticks question!

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

muir318

Sanding sticks question!

Post by muir318 »

Hello again guys,
As i have stated on a few posts on here i am new to building.
I thought i would write to ask if sanding sticks are model specific ones or are they just run of the mill nail files/buffers?(they look like nail files/buffers to me)
I intend to go buy some tomorrow but thought i would ask here first as i don't want to be spend more money on "model" sanding sticks if i can just pop into a pharmacy etc and buy nail files for a fraction of the price!

Thanks in advance for all answers
Ziz

Post by Ziz »

Nail files/emery boards are easy and cheap to get but a friend showed me how to make my own.

Get some square, rectangular and round wood stock from your hobby shop or craft store like Michaels or AC Moore. Cut into lengths about 2" long. Cover one side with double stick scotch tape. Apply to sandpaper of choice. Trim.

Now you can make custom sized, shaped & grades of sanding blocks, sticks and rods to suit any modeling task.
Modular
Models

Build your fleet
YOUR way.

http://www.modular-models.com
----------------------------------------------------------
"I know you think you understand what you thought I said, but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant." - Alan Greenspan

Post by JasonJDF »

I do the same thing as Ziz but use the 3m foam double-sided tape. It creates a softer surface similar to the sanding sticks sold in hobby shops.
The day started off with instructions and ended up KITBASHED!
irishtrek

Post by irishtrek »

Years ago I bought a bag of assorted grades/sizes at a dollar store and I've still got then even though I no longer use them because they got filled with sanded plastic.
Normal?? What is normal??
Mr. Badwrench

Post by Mr. Badwrench »