how to make fake laser beams?

Ask and answer questions, share tips and resources for installing lighting and other electronics in your models.

Moderators: Sparky, Moderators

kpoff

how to make fake laser beams?

Post by kpoff »

Hi all,

Newbie here. Searched the forums but no luck. Trying to make a phaser battle or at least a ship firing phasers. Looking for a way to transmit an apparent phaser beam(s) from my 1:350 Refit or other ship with the beam lit up the whole way (a few feet) basically looking like a mini neon tube. The closest thing I've figured from reading around the net and here is some sort of bright LEDs plus some small tubes. No problem with the LEDs but really have no idea what or where to find the tubes. I've seen the clear acrylic ones but would the light simply pass through them without lighting the tube up? Would I use colored LEDs or colored material. Or is this even the way to approach this? Thanks in advance and don't be too mean if Ithis has been addressed and I'm just an idiot :wink:
Scott Hasty

Post by Scott Hasty »

WELCOME to the board (and insanity). I recall, seeing somewhere, someone took acrylic rod and lit it with a laser diode. I cannot seem to find it, but if it exists, someone here will. The effect was quite striking...
I am fearful when I see people substituting fear for reason
Stu Pidasso

Post by Stu Pidasso »

Lego/K'nex/Duplo selld flourescent tubes just for that purpose. Depends on the size you need.
So me, trying to be tolerant of everybody's situations, went to a feminist picnic. Things fell apart fairly quickly after nobody made any sandwiches.
Grumpy Popeye

Post by Grumpy Popeye »

The rakishly handsome artist formerly known as Darph Bobo
Sparky

Post by Sparky »

there are also colored plastic/acrylic rod I picked some up for use as laser beams. Just light with a bright white LED. As long as there aren't big bubbles in the rod it wont' look too obvious.