Softer masking edges?

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

smusno

Softer masking edges?

Post by smusno »

Is there any way to soften the edges when using masking tape?

I have used Tamiya masking tape to create my own aztek pattern on the secondary hull and pylons on my dodgy old refit Enterprise. But.........

Where im a noob, and extremely new to modelling, I have used rattle cans. Now, I think I have made a pretty good job of the painting, and the masking. I allowed everything tons of time to dry, pressed all the masking down well and so on. But, on removal. The darker bits of paint are quite pronounced :roll:

I appreciate that a covering in a thin white, and some white pearl will calm it down. I also appreciate that once she is finished, it wont look a fraction as "obvious" when you look at her as a whole. But would a light sanding with some wet and dry help? Or will that just scratch up the base coat too?

thanks, smusno.
USSARCADIA

Post by USSARCADIA »

You could try a very light sanding with some wet 600 grit, That could cut down the edges. Try it in a less noticeable area first.
Did you eat your Chocolate Frosted Sugar Bombs this morning?
Rogviler

Post by Rogviler »

Lately I've become a fan of sanding dry with the finer grits. I tried it on a whim and find that while it does clog faster, it doesn't cut nearly as quickly (so it's harder to sand through), and it's a lot easier to tell when you're smooth or if you're about to sand through. The blasphemy! But it really does work better in a lot of situations like this. You can always wash the paper out when you're done...

I also like 0000 steel wool for this sort of thing, as well as for a light scuff between coats. You'll never find an easier way to get a super smooth finish.

-Rog
robiwon

Post by robiwon »