Would this Air Compressor work?

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

radiofrog

Would this Air Compressor work?

Post by radiofrog »

I want to get started using an airbrush, but I have zero experience with one. So, ignorant question #1: would THIS compressor be okay to use?
"The middle third of the baseball bat turned into a column of burning sawdust accelerating in all directions like a bursting star."
USS Atlantis
Location: Galaxy 217, Orion Arm, Sol System, Sol III, 44° 53' N 93° 13' W (Local coordinate system)

Post by USS Atlantis »

That's the exact one I use

Be sure to get two things

Regulator - yes it comes with one, but it's not all that great

Filter - this keeps water out of the air-line

HF has an all-in-one unit HERE that will do the job

You'll also need fittings to reduce the 1/4" outlet on the regulator to the in on the airbrush - any hobby shop with a decent airbrush selection and accessories should have that
Atlantis (Ken)

Build Blog
Leif_G

Post by Leif_G »

Looks a lot better than my air compressor. Mine's an elephant. No foolin'.

http://www.accesstattoo.com/Portable-Ta ... phant.html

Leif
radiofrog

Post by radiofrog »

Thanks for the quick responses!
USS Atlantis wrote:That's the exact one I use

Be sure to get two things

HF has an all-in-one unit HERE that will do the job

You'll also need fittings to reduce the 1/4" outlet on the regulator to the in on the airbrush - any hobby shop with a decent airbrush selection and accessories should have that
Okay, good to know. However, that starts bringing the price up. Might I be better off just getting something like THIS?
"The middle third of the baseball bat turned into a column of burning sawdust accelerating in all directions like a bursting star."
Kylwell

Post by Kylwell »

IIRC the pancake compressor is quieter.
Abolish Alliteration
radiofrog

Post by radiofrog »