Question about led's

Ask and answer questions, share tips and resources for installing lighting and other electronics in your models.

Moderators: Sparky, Moderators

kahless78

Question about led's

Post by kahless78 »

I hope this doesnt sound stupid but I have no experience wiring led's so here is my question?

Can i wire a bunch of White 3.3vdc 8000 mcd 5mm led's say 30 of them mixed with a couple of blue and red ones. Each light will have a resistor of
200 Ohm . Can all of this work off of a single 9 volt battery?
USS Atlantis
Location: Galaxy 217, Orion Arm, Sol System, Sol III, 44° 53' N 93° 13' W (Local coordinate system)

Re: Question about led's

Post by USS Atlantis »

kahless78 wrote:I hope this doesnt sound stupid but I have no experience wiring led's so here is my question?

Can i wire a bunch of White 3.3vdc 8000 mcd 5mm led's say 30 of them mixed with a couple of blue and red ones. Each light will have a resistor of
200 Ohm . Can all of this work off of a single 9 volt battery?
Ok - LED-101

1) Yes, you can mix colors so long as you have the correct resistor attached to each one

2) Need to know the current rating of the LED as well as the voltage - normally will be listed as ??ma

3) To calculate the correct resistor for the LED - (Vs-Vd)/A

Vs - is the source voltage - you've stated this as 9v
Vd - is the LED voltage drop - again, stated as 3.3v
A - is the current rating of the LED - unstated, but I'll use 20ma or .02A (that's what the LED's I get are rated at)

So - (9-3.3)/.02 = 285

So you should have at LEAST 285 Ohm resistors for the Whites

Blues are normally the same as Whites - so use the same rating

Reds are normally in the 1.8v-2.2v range - so recalculating

(9-2.2)/.02 = 340 Ohms

So you'd need at LEAST a 340 ohm resistor for each Red

Now - notice I said "at least" - NEVER use a resistor less than the calculations state - sometimes the calcs will designate a value that's non-standard