40 PSI too much?

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

kugar13

40 PSI too much?

Post by kugar13 »

I'm new to many aspects of modeling. I decided to get serious about it and am diving head first, but I think I jumped the gun on buying a few things. After doing some research I read 30 PSI and lower is best for airbrushing models. I purchased a 40 PSI compressor yesterday. Is that too much?

Also, what accessories will I need for my airbrush?

Is there a great site/article/book on airbrushing that is considered the 'bible' of airbrushing?

I did some research today and decided to get the Paasche H Series Airbrush.

Thanks for the help guys!
redfinger

Re: 40 PSI too much?

Post by redfinger »

kugar13 wrote:I'm new to many aspects of modeling. I decided to get serious about it and am diving head first, but I think I jumped the gun on buying a few things. After doing some research I read 30 PSI and lower is best for airbrushing models. I purchased a 40 PSI compressor yesterday. Is that too much?

Is there a great site/article/book on airbrushing that is considered the 'bible' of airbrushing?

I did some research today and decided to get the Paasche H Series Airbrush.

Thanks for the help guys!
get a pressure gauge and a air regulator attatched to your compressor, that way you can control the psi. I usally spray in the area of 12-18psi.

The lower the pressure too, the thinner the paint, mostly ;)

and as ar as there being a "bible" of airbrushing, I have never seen one, but my reccomendation, just jump in, dont be afraid to try it and have fun w/ it....airbrushing is a highly individualized technique that is built after hours and years of use.

Ashton
kugar13

Post by kugar13 »

redfinger wrote: get a pressure gauge and a air regulator attatched to your compressor, that way you can control the psi. I usally spray in the area of 12-18psi.