Total beginner lighting

Ask and answer questions, share tips and resources for installing lighting and other electronics in your models.

Moderators: Sparky, Moderators

Ramshackle_Curtis

Total beginner lighting

Post by Ramshackle_Curtis »

Hey guys,

This is my first post on the forum! yay!

Anyway, I read through the topics on here and cant seem to find what Im after. Basically, Im so totally a newb that even the newb topics are too advanced for me! :?

I want to add the most simple possible led to a model. That is, one led, a wire, a battery and an on/off mechanism. It has to be small as I want to put it in a 28mm scale figure. Im making the figure myself, so could put space for a larger battery into it, but really the smaller the better.

My questions are these: can I just buy the parts and go ahead, or do I need a capacitor or other electronic doodad to make the thing work? What batteries are best for really small stuff? How much "runtime" will a tiny battery give me?

ANy help would be greatly appreciated!
Scott Hasty

Post by Scott Hasty »

You want this all mounted in a 28mm figure?
I am fearful when I see people substituting fear for reason
en'til Zog

Post by en'til Zog »

You can get by with as little as an LED and a "watch battery". That's all that is in some teeeny flashlights, anyway. Just make sure that the LED needs a bit more voltage than the battery can deliver, for long LED life.