Exhaust Residue/Weathering Technique

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

marcus0311

Exhaust Residue/Weathering Technique

Post by marcus0311 »

Ok I'm sure a topic like this is somewhere in this forum,but I can't find it. I'm building the revell re-reissue viper kit. I building it up into a varient of the Scarlet Viper, but a little different here and there. Since the model is built in sections, I decided to completley finich the forward half of the viper, and then start on the engines till thier completley done, then the wings so on and so forth. Anyways, I drilled out vector thrust holes in the nose(a little larger than originally intended but I don't feel like filling them in and re-drilling them out). I'm down to the detailing stage of the forward half. I have a mix of Model Master Flat Black, and rubbing alcohol as a kind of wash/weathering solution. My question is: How can I make the exhaust stains from the vector thrust holes?
THE SECRET TO VICTORY...IS THE VIOLENT PATH TO PEACE-Scorpius(Farscape,Peacekeeper Wars).
I WANT ALL GUNCAPTAINS TO FIRE TILL THEY'RE OUT OF AMMO...THEN I WANT THEM START THROWING ROCKS! (Adama,BSG finale).

"COME ON YOU SONS OF BITCHES!DO YOU WANT TO LIVE FOR EVER?"(GunnerySergeant Dan Daly-Battle of Belleau Wood-WWI)
Pat Amaral

Post by Pat Amaral »

Maybe there doesn't need to be any exhaust staining at all. I would think that, logically, you would use an inert gas for an RCS system that small. Consider the nitrogen jets used in NASA's MMU from the 80s and now the SAFER units on the ISS EVA suits for example. Of course, on a fighter type craft, the RCS would have to be much more powerful but I still don't think you would need rockets that generate residue.

If you have your heart set on staining your RCS ports, I think the pattern should be round and uniform around each hole.
Pat A.
=============================