Airbrush newbie. What type and where the heck to buy online.

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

Orion

Airbrush newbie. What type and where the heck to buy online.

Post by Orion »

Well, not just new at airbrush's, I'm new at just about everything as far as real modeling is concerned. Sure I threw together some when I was a kid, and thats how they turned out, looked like someone threw them together.

I've been reading various websites for a while now, and I've got most of the basics under my thumb I believe, except for paint. It still baffles the small minds. :?

I've started on the Monogram USS Voyager model. Still in the early construction stages right now though. My first major problem, is that I don't have a local hobby shop. Walmart would be as close as it comes. Looks like there's a Hobbytown about an hour from me, but I can't say I've ever been to one. Is it legal to ship paints? Granted I'm sure I don't know the best supply websites to look at, but the ones that I do don't seem to offer much in the line of paint. Any good website recommendations?

Of course I'd like the paint finish to look as best as I can get it, so it would seem that an Airbrush would be the way to go. I'm not sure what exactly I'm looking at when I look at these. Some say they are good for base coats, some use the 'propel' cans for propellant, and so on. It seems that for the most part, the accuracy of the brush, as in if it is good for base or fine work, can be adjusted by the tip used. Is this correct? So I'm looking for a decently priced, reliable, general use airbrush. I've looked at some of the badgers, Iwata's (out of my price range right now) and some of the others, and seems like maybe the badger (350?) might foot the bill.