Some questions from a novice model painter

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

Hiryu02

Some questions from a novice model painter

Post by Hiryu02 »

I have been building models for several years, and have started again recently, after a long hiatus. My experience is mostly with gundam models, as they are a favorite of mine.

In the past, I have only done painting by hand with enamels, and no sanding work, just trimming the flash. And I have been pleased with the turnout, but of course, I mainly painted only details as most of the kits I assembled were cast in the correct colors, or a shade very close to correct.

I want to reach the next level of detail and workmanship, and so I’ve decided to acquire an airbrush. I decided I want an Iwata, and I will be using Tamiya acrylics.

I do have some questions I hope people will help me with.

First, regarding Tamiya acrylics, are they aqueous/ water-based, or do I need the thinners that they sell as well?

With airbrushes, is a top or bottom-feed preferable?

Is a spray box an absolute necessity? I plan to be painting indoors by a window, as the garage is not suited for this type of work. Or is the relatively small amount of paint used not enough to cause problems.

If the part I am building is already cast in the correct color, or close to it, is it still preferable to fully sand/prime/paint? Or is it sufficient to simply clean off the flash as cleanly as possible? It just sounds like overkill to me to essentially repaint the part in the same color, but then again, I’m a novice.

Anyway, that’s about it for now, I look forward to your responses, thanks in advance.
Kylwell

Post by Kylwell »

Tamiya can be thinned with water and/or alchohol but I perfer to just use Tamiya's thinners.

Top or bottom tends to be a personal choice. I perfer bottom becasue I shoot straight from the bottle usually.