New to Lighting and need suggestions

Ask and answer questions, share tips and resources for installing lighting and other electronics in your models.

Moderators: Sparky, Moderators

Rogerp

New to Lighting and need suggestions

Post by Rogerp »

I am planning on building a Polar Lights 1/1000 TOS Enterprise and want to light it. I have lots of modelling experience but no experience with lighting and LED's.
Any suggestions for a novice?
Sloucher

Post by Sloucher »

Hi Rogerp

Space is at a premium in this scale of model, so my suggestion would be to use one or two white leds in the saucer section and again one or two in the engineering section for interior lighting. Of course, this does mean making holes to let the light out as required! You could use the self adhesive vinyl stickers to work out where best to drill/cut the windows for the effect you're after - not every window will be lit of course.

If you feel brave enough, there's just enough room I found at the front of the engineering section to put a small flasher circuit using a 555 timer to power a red and a green led for the nav lights on the saucer section (pm me if you like and I can give you more details of a suitable circuit diagram).

If you really want to get arty, you could always light the bussard collectors or make a circuit to produce a rotating light effect - like wot I did. :oops:
http://flic.kr/p/7RuVaf
BTW, I used a blue led for the interior lighting of the engineering hull - what can I say, it was an experiment!!

You might find it useful to do the same as I did and make a hollow base for the model. It gives it more stability and its somewhere to hide the battery!

Bernie
WiredFX

Small Lighting and Effects UK
Glorfindel

Post by Glorfindel »