Adding sound?

Ask and answer questions, share tips and resources for installing lighting and other electronics in your models.

Moderators: Sparky, Moderators

revwarguy

Adding sound?

Post by revwarguy »

I need to add sound to a project. I have done quite a bit of Arduino project work, so using a pro mini or a teensy makes sense (in may case, a small form factor is pretty much required) along with a daughter card of some sort that has a SD card socket and an mp3/audio amplifier to drive a small speaker.

My need to is be able copy a (preferably large) number of mp3 files onto the SD card and have them play either randomly or in order, continuously or at the press of a button. I have no problem wiring up this configuration or writing the software to make this happen.

Before I do this, however, I need to say that I am new to the modelling scene (well, actually quite old to it - my first model was circa 1966 but I have been out of this space for a long time) and I suspect that this is something for which there must already be a solution. I asked a friend about his train set, and he said there are boards with the sound already in them, but nothing he knew of that was a more general solution like what I've described.

So, before I re-invent the wheel here, do any of you know of something like what I need?

Also, I have been impressed with the quality of speakers that exist in tablets and phones for their size, so I was wondering if anyone had any experience with them.
TIA,
tengel

Re: Adding sound?

Post by tengel »

I can recommend the df mini player:
https://www.dfrobot.com/wiki/index.php/ ... KU:DFR0299
Best Regards
Torsten
www.scaleautofactory.com
revwarguy

Post by revwarguy »