Novice wiring question.....

Ask and answer questions, share tips and resources for installing lighting and other electronics in your models.

Moderators: Sparky, Moderators

Oxnard Montalvo

Novice wiring question.....

Post by Oxnard Montalvo »

Hi all,

Just getting round to lighting a couple of kits that don't require much in the way of electronics, just some straightforward white LED's. I've always recycled/repurposed already wired bulbs before, and thus in starting from scratch this time, find myself in the position of needing wire for the job... Being a complete beginner with this stuff I have no idea what kind of wire to buy (diameter etc.) Many of the descriptions online are confusing to me, (solid core, etc) I'm just looking for some ordinary thin wire for LEDs, and I have no idea what to shop for....

Any advice greatfully taken

Thanks in advance!
The only thing to fear is fear itself......and spiders.
brt

Post by brt »

30 or 32 AWG. Runs in tight spaces. Not sure about whether stranded or solid suits you better. Stranded gives me a bit of an issue sometimes when stripping it.
“Life is pain, highness. Anyone who says differently is selling something.”
― William Goldman
mhvink

Post by mhvink »

30-32 AWG stranded wire requires a special stripper due to the (usually) Teflon jacket (insulation). At that size, stranded is stronger than solid core, but solid will allow you to bend the wire and it will retain it's shape better.
You can find small guage wire at most electronic supply stores, Radio Shack (hurry before they all close) and even at Hobby Lobby stores.

Anything over 22 AWG will be fine to use. The higher the number, the smaller the wire. The size will be dependant on the amount of current you intend to shove through it. LED's don't require much current at all, small electric motors to drive propellers, warp nacell spinners, etc. need more current.

Mike
blakeh1

Post by blakeh1 »