Need Lighting assistance Space Battleship Yamato

Ask and answer questions, share tips and resources for installing lighting and other electronics in your models.

Moderators: Sparky, Moderators

CSLemke

Need Lighting assistance Space Battleship Yamato

Post by CSLemke »

Alright, I'm a newbie to lighting, well not really, I put pre-made lighting kits into models before but this is a bit different.

I want to light my 1:500 scale Space Battleship Yamato...
I've seen the one for sale in the store, but it's wrong for what I want.

Here's what I want to do:

Lights always on steady:
- 3 light green command tower lights
- 1 light green for the 3rd Bridge (hull bridge)
- 2 Yellow lights for the port and starboard observation decks
- 1 Amber light for the hull flight deck (just fwd of the secondary engines)
(I'm scratch building the ramp and interior flight deck)

'flickering' or 'pulsing' lights:
Yellow/orange color
2 for the smaller secondary engines
1 large for the main thruster

Build-up Wave Motion Gun
lights build up to bright orange glows for a moment then 'bursts' really bright to a White/Blue color.

When the Wave Motion Gun is in build-up mode the engine lights go off and the other lights all dim to 50%

Can anyone help?!?!?!
Take my love. Take my land.
Take me where I cannot stand.
I don't care, I'm still free.
You can't take the sky from me.
tetsujin

Post by tetsujin »

How are you with programming? My suggestion would be a little Arduino plus a few resistors and a bit of coding. You've got few enough LEDs that you could probably drive the whole thing without adding a dedicated LED driver IC - but adding one if necessary wouldn't be a huge issue.
---GEC (三面図流の初段)
There are no rats.
The skulls eat them.
CSLemke

Post by CSLemke »

Given instructions I can work out most things, but to date I've only worked with ready made lighting sets.
frollsshontay

Post by frollsshontay »