really P.O.ed last night frisket lifted pain off

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

NathanJ

really P.O.ed last night frisket lifted pain off

Post by NathanJ »

Well, I am fairly new to the airbrush. I played with one before but not that much. Recently got a Enterprise C reissue and wanted to try airbrush for the paint scheme. It looked great, until the frisket peeled the paint right off. I did soak/wash the model but I did not prime it. What type of primer is the best to use for that before this thing goes flying out the window LOL. I do have it soaking in mean green to completely remove the old stuff. Thanks for your time.
geck

Post by geck »

Tamiya Gray Surface Primer.

Amazing stuff and more available now after a severe drought due to container re-labeling.

If you want that same primer in a larger quantity...the automotive stores carry a brand that is the exact same thing...but the name escapes me at the moment.

I would stay clear of the frisket...it is too tacky and will lift the paint off...possbily even with a primer. Plus it is a little too thick to bend around curves easily.

I use Tamiya masking tape exclusively...the stuff is unmatched by anything out there and was designed specifically for model use. Only downside is it's a little pricey.
NathanJ

Post by NathanJ »

I will try those if I can find them, if not I will order them. Hobby Lobby may have it. Thanks for the quick reply. I was tired last night and probably shouldn't have even picked it up.
NathanJ

Post by NathanJ »

Even tried the blue painters tape. BUt I degress it was stupid not to prime it.
geck

Post by geck »

Been there...I tried frisket years ago after seeing the "pros" use it and was just as frustrated.
NathanJ

Post by NathanJ »

Is it Mr .Surfacer 500?
Vetter

Post by Vetter »