Priming Resin Models

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

Angus6619

Priming Resin Models

Post by Angus6619 »

I've done a few searches here, but found conflicting answers.

I've been into modeling for years and have always used Krylon gray primer after washing my resin (or plastic) parts in warm water + mild dish washing soap.

This has always worked well for me, but my latest resin kit - a 20" Battlestar Galactica Pegasus made from white resin - doesn't seem to accept the Krylon primer as well as my past resin kits.
If I scratch the back of my fingernail across the primed areas it will come off with moderate pressure.

Does anyone have any alternative primer suggestions or maybe different preparation before priming?
Last edited by Angus6619 on Tue Mar 15, 2011 4:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Malcolm M

Post by Malcolm M »

I'm not an expert, unlike many here. But when I've had primer adhesion problems it's usually down to mold release still on the kit.

I've had resin kits that have seemed clean after washing and then it's almost like the resin is bleeding fresh mold release. Usually a scrub with Simple Green cleans the remainder off.

However sometimes that doesn't work. :( I bought the Coneheads ship and the mold release laughed at the Simple Green. It took an old toothbrush and Comet scouring powder to finally get it off.
Angus6619

Post by Angus6619 »

Thank you for your reply and suggestions.

I'll try cleaning the parts more thoroughly before attempting to prime them again...
Angus6619

Post by Angus6619 »

I washed several other parts from the Pegasus kit with soap/water followed by a good dose of Comet. Primer adhered very well after drying the parts.

Thanks again Malcolm!!! :8)
kenlilly106

Post by kenlilly106 »