Air Compressors

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

User avatar
TER-OR
Site Admin
Posts: 10525
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 7:05 pm
Location: Conjugate imprecision of time negates absolute determination of location.
Contact:

Air Compressors

Post by TER-OR » Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:07 pm

Welcome to the Jack Wendt Memorial Air Compressor Thread.
Feel free to break wind in a controlled manner - remember the moisture trap!
Raised by wolves, tamed by nuns, padded for your protection.

Terry Miesle
Never trust anyone who says they don't have a hobby.
Quando Omni Flunkus Moratati

User avatar
TER-OR
Site Admin
Posts: 10525
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2002 7:05 pm
Location: Conjugate imprecision of time negates absolute determination of location.
Contact:

Post by TER-OR » Thu Jan 05, 2006 11:35 pm

I have a Senco model 1010 and I've added a ball-valve so I can remove the airbrush without emptying the tank. It's a nice quiet unit with a 1gallon reservior. I'm quite happy with it.
Raised by wolves, tamed by nuns, padded for your protection.

Terry Miesle
Never trust anyone who says they don't have a hobby.
Quando Omni Flunkus Moratati

User avatar
SGluedMyFingers
Posts: 1299
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 12:01 am
Location: Out there...
Contact:

Post by SGluedMyFingers » Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:22 pm

I sprung for a Silentaire Scorpion as I live in an apartment (I can hear my neighbor's TV right now).

If I had it to do over, I'd find another set-up. Although it is MUCH quieter than a standard compressor, it is by no means "silent as a whisper" as advertised. And I have, at times, wished that I have greater psi available (now that I have an airbrush, I'd like to experiment with T-shirts. It doesn't have the psi to push T-shirt paint). And it gets pretty hot - like hot enough to burn your skin. I wouldn't recommend this for a single action airbrush either - the pressure starts quite strong (spurts) and then levels.

Again, if I had it to do over, I'd get a WalMart compressor (keep it in the storage shed) and a portable airtank.

Anyone else have one of these?

User avatar
darth_daniel
Posts: 3716
Joined: Tue Aug 19, 2003 4:03 am
Location: Austria

Post by darth_daniel » Sun Jan 22, 2006 5:55 am

What should be the max. pressure a compressor can produce? Is 2.5 bar enough?

User avatar
Jonas Calhoun
Posts: 1933
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 6:12 pm
Location: The Hunting Grounds.

Post by Jonas Calhoun » Sun Jan 22, 2006 12:49 pm

I don't think you need to worry about the max it can produce, because you should use a pressure regulator anyway to knock it down to what you need for the particular application.

Dan
"Laugh while you can, monkey boy!" -- Lord John Whorfin

nicholjm
Posts: 506
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2005 9:21 am
Location: Katy, TX

Post by nicholjm » Wed Feb 15, 2006 11:03 am

I have the Central Pneumatic 2-gallon compressor from Harbor Freight. I got it on sale for $50. So far it works great, I know I've heard the quality of these CP compressors isn't all that great, but for my purpose it works fine. I added a moisture trap from Home Depot for $11. I like it because, unlike those Badger or Paasche tank-less, airbrush-specific compressors, I can use this one around the house for airing up car tires, blowing stuff around, or running small air tools. The only thing I don't like about it is that I'll be painting, all relaxed and such, and then VVVRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!! The compressor kicks in because the air pressure has dropped too much. It's less annoying than a vacuum cleaner, but still makes me jump.
"Dogs and cats, living together...MASS HYSTERIA!!!"

seeker
Posts: 164
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 4:44 pm
Location: In a handbasket, going somewhere.

Post by seeker » Wed Feb 15, 2006 11:53 am

nicholjm wrote:The only thing I don't like about it is that I'll be painting, all relaxed and such, and then VVVRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!! The compressor kicks in because the air pressure has dropped too much. It's less annoying than a vacuum cleaner, but still makes me jump.
Get a longish air hose and a 1 gallon air tank, plus fittings (quickchange connector for the hose and tank input, that sort of thing). Put the compressor outside, use the air hose to connect it to the small tank, connect your water trap and regulator and airbrush to the small tank's output. Noise problem solved. Or, at least, foisted off on the neighbors. :wink:
Reeek reeeeek.

big-dog
Posts: 5778
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2002 4:46 pm

Post by big-dog » Thu Feb 16, 2006 1:23 am

I have a Silentaire Scorpion 1 and could not be happier with it. Used it with double and single action brushes. Quiet? You can talk over it easily, I could hear the TV in another room with it running, and it never woke up Dougal-the-Pooh while he was sleeping the same room, actually on the floor directly under the counter the compressor was on. Never had it spatter, build up excess pressure, peter out or nothing. I'd recommend this to anyone, I've had it for 4 years. For airbrushing I wouldn't use anything else.
Stand back, I don't know how big this thing gets.

User avatar
SGluedMyFingers
Posts: 1299
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2005 12:01 am
Location: Out there...
Contact:

Post by SGluedMyFingers » Thu Feb 16, 2006 2:28 am

Do you use a pressure regulator? I've been thinking of finding one. Paache has an in-line that I've been looking at. I think that may help.

rodsmith42
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 09, 2006 11:56 am

Post by rodsmith42 » Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:42 pm

General airbrushing question, does a compressor need a regulator? I was looking at www.dixieart.com and the Iwata Smart Jet compressor. For an extra $50 you can order one with a regulator. Does this mean the one without the regulator will not work as well? Thanks for any info.
I know not with what weapons World War III will be fought, but World War IV will be fought with sticks and stones.

Einstein

User avatar
artic316
Posts: 621
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 10:26 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada

will this work??

Post by artic316 » Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:19 pm

:? Will a fishtank air compressor work good for airbrushing? Would I need a gauge to set the pressure I need? I currently use canned propellent.Any help from all you guys would be apreciated.
improvise adapt and overcome.We are the fellowship of modelers.

User avatar
Dr. Yo
Posts: 14083
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2004 5:45 pm
Location: Craig York,Austin, Texas, Mars

Re: will this work??

Post by Dr. Yo » Sat Feb 18, 2006 5:48 pm

artic316 wrote::? Will a fishtank air compressor work good for airbrushing? Would I need a gauge to set the pressure I need? I currently use canned propellent.Any help from all you guys would be apreciated.
Probably not, Artic- thhats pretty low output compared to a regular
compressor-if you're shopping on-line, you might check Squadron for
a start...I wish I could be more help, but my last compressor was a
gift-but from looking at the posts above, Harbor Freight looks like a
good, inexpensive way to get started...
The Dragon never sleeps. But he does like a spot of tea, now and then.

Zen-Builder
Posts: 2073
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2005 6:06 pm
Location: Tokyo, Japan

Post by Zen-Builder » Sat Feb 18, 2006 11:07 pm

I have 2 compresors:
Airtex APC-007
Generic oil-less piston Compressor

Most of my aibrushing accesories like quick-connectors, in-line filters, hoses, etc are also Airtex, Airbrushes are by WAVE(Iwata)

Compressor is a must, moisture traps are good to have depending on your local climate and weather.

User avatar
Jonas Calhoun
Posts: 1933
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 6:12 pm
Location: The Hunting Grounds.

Post by Jonas Calhoun » Sun Feb 19, 2006 12:50 am

And yes, if you can afford it, a regulator will help matters...

Dan
"Laugh while you can, monkey boy!" -- Lord John Whorfin

User avatar
iSteve
Posts: 6170
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 1:13 pm
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Contact:

Post by iSteve » Sun Apr 23, 2006 12:14 am

Anyone ever try Airbrush City's stuff - particularly their compressors?
For 15 francs more, I can put a can of sardines on your chest.

User avatar
Morty Seinfeld
Posts: 655
Joined: Thu May 27, 2004 10:07 am
Location: Del Boca Vista, FL

Re: will this work??

Post by Morty Seinfeld » Sat Jun 03, 2006 9:37 am

artic316 wrote::? Will a fishtank air compressor work good for airbrushing? Would I need a gauge to set the pressure I need? I currently use canned propellent.Any help from all you guys would be apreciated.
Still looking for an aircompressor? Try Canadian Tire (I noticed you're in Canada). On one of my frequent trips there I picked up a Job Mate 3 gallon compressor for about $60.00 CAN. Works fine.
"Cheap fabric, and dim lighting. That's how you move merchandise."

bmagee
Posts: 222
Joined: Sun Jul 02, 2006 12:27 pm
Location: moving to Baton Rouge now!

Post by bmagee » Sun Jul 16, 2006 8:48 pm

Target had a 2hp compressor on sale last week. It was 75 bucks with a brad nailer and a few accesories. I picked one up. It also had a regulator built on with the auto/pressure switch for when the tank gets full. The regulator that came with it should do...

kallen-bortas
Posts: 167
Joined: Wed Jan 04, 2006 3:32 pm
Location: Ruston, LA
Contact:

Post by kallen-bortas » Thu Jul 27, 2006 1:55 pm

Home Despot has probably the same compressor/brad nailer for $70. I'm had my eye on it since it arrived in the store(I part time there).

Its got a 1 gal. tank, not sure how long the air would last before it would kick in.

Dumb question, but on a tank compressor, when it kicks in, will that cause a "hic-up" in the air leading to possible splatter?

User avatar
Lord Darth Beavis
Posts: 9051
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:01 pm
Location: In that number!
Contact:

Post by Lord Darth Beavis » Wed Dec 27, 2006 1:54 am

Just thought I'd post this link to the DIY silent compressor I found on Club Hyper: http://www.clubhyper.com/reference/compressorgi_1.htm
"I have an ARMY!"

*shrugs* "We have a Hulk."
================================
America*: Land of the Free**



* - "America" is a registered trademark of U.S. Corporations.
** - No actual freedoms are inferred or implied.
Any resemblance to totalitarian regimes is strictly coincidental
unless those regimes are regulated by the Federal Government.

================================
'Russia Space Agency. My name Peggy. Have problem?'

Northerner
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 10:31 am
Location: South Dakota, USA

Post by Northerner » Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:46 am

can anyone tell me if there is a difference between an oil less and oiled compressor?
is one quieter then the other? im worried about buying a high end used oil
compressor (to save money) because the oil needs to be drained or it can
get ruined during shipping or just by being tipped over, and someone might
not now how to drain correctly.

and a compressor with a reserve tank has to be better then just a normal
compressor with no tank right?

also what about a dual cylinder compressor over a single cylinder, which
is better and why??

a quiet compressor is very important so if you can name some good ones?

thanks everyone

Digger1

Post by Digger1 » Tue Jan 02, 2007 7:45 pm

So, if I get one of thise dial-up regulators, what should the PSI be set at for fine detail and for overall covering?

When I just tried using the airbrush for the first time a few minutes ago, the air didn't last long at 100 PSI so I'm thinking that if I had a regulator, the air would last longer.

Northerner
Posts: 49
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 10:31 am
Location: South Dakota, USA

Post by Northerner » Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:02 pm

yeah, 100 psi is way to much pressure

you want to run around 25-35 psi for general
and a little lower for finer detail

Digger1

Post by Digger1 » Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:07 pm

yeah, doing the solar panel for the TIE, the part damn near flew out of my hand.

User avatar
Jonas Calhoun
Posts: 1933
Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2003 6:12 pm
Location: The Hunting Grounds.

Post by Jonas Calhoun » Wed Jan 03, 2007 6:22 pm

Norhterner, an oil-free compressor will generally be noisier than an oil-filled compressor. It's also usually cheaper, and maintenance-free. It'll also wear out a bit faster.

Dan
"Laugh while you can, monkey boy!" -- Lord John Whorfin

User avatar
BLZ BOB
Posts: 1363
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2004 8:59 am
Location: Devon, UK

Post by BLZ BOB » Thu Feb 08, 2007 10:18 am

Well I have had my compressor nearly two years now, its very similar to this one in fact the one pictured is the slightly newer model with a drifferent housing. Far more power than I need for just airbrushing but it comes in handy when I need to attach that one litre paint blaster and spray creosote over the shed :D

It cost me around 70GBP new and that ended up coming closer to 100 once I added in some recoil air hose, air duster and moisture trap, oh not forgetting couplers and PTFE tape either. In operations its flawless typically out of a three hour painting session it will top of the tank no more than 15 times or so (depending on pressure) and each time its only active for 15 secs. The unit came with a regulator so I didnt need to fork out extra and the only downside to an otherwise ideal piece of kit is the noise.

It likes to go BRAPPPPPPP when filling, and when cocentrating on a detail thats the last thing you need so I now wear ear defenders and close the spare bedroom door. It does mean that I can't use it to airbrush in the evenings or well in fact at any time except saturdays afternoons as living in a block of flats the neighbours will complain if I fire it up.

Prior to this I had bought a hobby compressor from my brother a little box of a thing with an output nubbin and an on switch, it was a 'thrummer' in that it had no holding tank and pulsed air down the tube, it was also relatively noisy and you could only run the thing for 15-20 minutes before it started overheating and melting the carpet. On the plus side I did sell it back to my bro when I got my new one for the same price as I bought it effectively renting it free, thanks Nick :D

If you can stomach the noise or can site the compressor itself further away and run an airhose to your desk then they are good cheap units that have the capability to run air tools and inflate tyres. Although I would love a proper hobby type compressor with their price tags this domestic/industrial unit is a sensible compromise.
Your Tastebuds can't repel flavour of this magnitude!

User avatar
Kylwell
Moderator
Posts: 28874
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2003 9:25 pm
Location: Lakewood, CO
Contact:

Post by Kylwell » Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:19 pm

I've got a Badger Model 180-11 that I've had for close to 15 years.

I've looking to get something a bit quieter someday.
Abolish Alliteration

User avatar
Lord Darth Beavis
Posts: 9051
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:01 pm
Location: In that number!
Contact:

Post by Lord Darth Beavis » Thu Dec 27, 2007 7:43 pm

I am now the proud owner of an Iwata SmartJet! Review to follow, once I work up the courage to paint anything! :oops:
"I have an ARMY!"

*shrugs* "We have a Hulk."
================================
America*: Land of the Free**



* - "America" is a registered trademark of U.S. Corporations.
** - No actual freedoms are inferred or implied.
Any resemblance to totalitarian regimes is strictly coincidental
unless those regimes are regulated by the Federal Government.

================================
'Russia Space Agency. My name Peggy. Have problem?'

User avatar
jgoldader
Posts: 883
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2007 7:24 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA

Post by jgoldader » Sun Apr 20, 2008 11:14 am

Well, now I've done it. I ordered a Badger 360 from the Garage Sale this morning (the price was good, the shipping was sorta high, but what're you gonna do?). Anyway, if my wife doesn't find out, I might just live through it! 8-[

IIRC, there was an ad several years ago in FSM selling what looked like the evil twin of my kids' nebulizer for use as an airbrush compressor. Has anybody ever tried recycling a nebulizer for such a thing?

I figure I'd need a regulator and moisture trap, of course. The tubing will be an issue--the nebulizer uses nalgene tubing, so somehow I'd need an adapter.

Thanks!
Jeff

User avatar
kitty
Posts: 1316
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 6:54 pm
Location: Eindhoven NL

Post by kitty » Sat Jun 28, 2008 9:49 am

I have a HANSA 20A, made by Harder and Steenbeck in Germany.
It's the same model as the Sil-Air 20A and the Eurotech 20A.
The only difference between these compressors is the color of the rectangular casing.
Black for Hansa, Blue for Eurotech and Grey for Sil-Air.
It is an oil-filled piston compressor with a 1.5 litre Pressure tank, pressure regulator with lock and gauge, moisture trap and ball valve.
It has a max pressure of 8 Bar, automaticaly shuts off at the set pressure and is extremely quiet.
Makes less noise than my refrigerator, at 3 feet i cannot hear it.
dimensions: 18 x 40 x 22 cm, weight approx 18 KG.
Price: Around 300 Euro's

If you can affort one and live in the EU, i would recomend it
Democracy may be only a few steps removed from anarchy,
But at least it's not as loud.
You broke your little ships. See you around Ahab. :spock:

kenlilly106
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:18 am
Location: in the mountains

Post by kenlilly106 » Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:18 am

An oiled compressor is more suited to shop work, where it will run nearly continuously every working day, the oil helps to lubricate the moving parts and keep it cooler.

The problem with one is that you need and oil trap on the output line, otherwise you will get oil in the line which will end up in your paint.

A compressor with a tank is always better than tankless, the tank will smooth out the pressure differences, otherwise the air pressure in the line will do this: /\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/\/

For larger areas and general work its not much of a problem, but when doing very fine lines, shading, freehand camo, etc., the pulses will cause the line width to change.

Dual cylinder compressors are more suited for shop use as well, they can provide more CFM at a higher PSI.

The compressors we have at work are large flywheel-driven compressors that date to the 1940's, output is at 90psi, I can open an air line several miles away from the compressor house and still get 90psi air, of course the storage tanks are the size of railroad tank cars, and the main output lines are 8", so they're not practical for home use.

Ken

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest