New Airbrush/Compressor

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

slookabill

New Airbrush/Compressor

Post by slookabill »

I'm wondering what I need to replace or if I'm doing something really wrong. Currently I have a Master/Airbrush Depot TC-20 compressor and Master Airbrush G233 airbrush. When using to get a decent flow/consistent paint, I end up using a lot of thinner(almost a 1-1 ratio it feels like), and have to be at 40-50psi(at least indicated on compressor) to get a decent flow that doesn't get stopped up or stop flowing for some reason. Do I need a different/better airbrush, better compressor, both? Different technique?
EVApodman

Re: New Airbrush/Compressor

Post by EVApodman »

The kind of paint you use along with your airbrush will all affect how your paint comes out.

Generally enamels need thinning and higher pressure than metallics or lacquer paints. I use acrylics straight out of the bottle. With Dullcote I cut it with thinner to get a more even spray and coating.

Acrylic glosses like Future come out like water and need a lower pressure to avoid too much spray.

I would suggest that you practice spraying on newspaper, scrap plastic to get a feel for your paints and airbrush.
"Nothing to do now but drink a beer and watch the universe die."
"Basically what I do everyday."

I AM Spartacus!
I'm Batman.

Don't believe everything you see on the Internet!- Abraham Lincoln

Oh my God!! It's full of plastic peanuts!

Today is a good day to model!
slookabill

Post by slookabill »

I'm mostly using Vallejo Acrylics, and it feels like I'm doing 3-1 paint to thinner ratio and that psi setting. Using no thinner and/or lower psi, I end up after a few min of having the tip completely clogged or similar.
gsb5w

Post by gsb5w »

I spray both enamels and acrylics at lower pressures than most folks. I'm usually around 10 to 12 psi.