How to weather question

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

slookabill

How to weather question

Post by slookabill »

Hello all, I'm still very new to painting and techniques(I'm lucky to mask and do various extra paints beyond the main color... though I do have an airbrush and compressor). I'm wondering if there's a good tutorial/book/videos/etc, for actually how do you weather things... obviously looking mostly at starships, so reentry burn marks, soot... or even battle damage. The basics thread here, when I've perused it, seems a bit daunting and still requires you to understand various terms, or how to do certain things or focused more on how to mix colors, or nuances of techniques.
southwestforests

Re: How to weather question

Post by southwestforests »

Hey there! Basics ... hmm, that's a good question, and having been modeling for almost 5 decades I'm not sure how to describe the very beginnings of weathering because it is so intuitive now.
Well, hey, here comes an idea - reentry, look at images of Space Shuttle after reentry and note where it appears darkened, 'smoked', and how that flows around the structure. A wash of paint through airbrush can be used to suggest that effect, oh, say, something like 3 or 4 drops of paint in an airbrush cup of thinner. Maybe a little brown/black & then a little light grey, so both the light areas and the dark areas show something.

Do a Google image search for space shuttle landing and note color staining on those images.
Such as:
ImageSTS-135 Atlantis Landing (201107210007HQ) by NASA HQ PHOTO, on Flickr
Note dark stain on white and greyish-ash hue on black,
https://images.csmonitor.com/csm/2012/0 ... rd_600x400