Craft Paint on Model Kits?

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

nac359

Craft Paint on Model Kits?

Post by nac359 »

Hey all. I'm in a position where all my local hobby stores have closed up around me, and my only options to buy paint locally are through the bigger box stores.

Has anyone used the craft paint (normally in a squeeze bottle) on their model kits before? I'm curious if anyone knows how well it ages or reacts with a primer base coat or sealer.

Obviously I'm thinking of testing before using it on any kits, but I was curious if anyone else has gone down this route before or has any experience with this type of paint. Thanks!
irishtrek

Post by irishtrek »

Any brand in particular?? Because I've been using different brand craft store paint for the past 20 years, all of them are acrylic based, from local craft stores such as Craft Wearhouse and Michaels but non from a squeeze tube. Any way I've even mixed them with Model master acrylics with no problems. The only problem I've had was when I went and tried to thin a color to run through my air brush, got the paint too thin.
Normal?? What is normal??
Lt. Z0mBe

Re: Craft Paint on Model Kits?

Post by Lt. Z0mBe »

nac359 wrote:Hey all. I'm in a position where all my local hobby stores have closed up around me, and my only options to buy paint locally are through the bigger box stores.

Has anyone used the craft paint (normally in a squeeze bottle) on their model kits before? I'm curious if anyone knows how well it ages or reacts with a primer base coat or sealer.

Obviously I'm thinking of testing before using it on any kits, but I was curious if anyone else has gone down this route before or has any experience with this type of paint. Thanks!