Is it just me or do acrylics not cover nearly as well?

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

MillenniumFalsehood

Is it just me or do acrylics not cover nearly as well?

Post by MillenniumFalsehood »

I've been painting on my Enterprise model for nearly an hour with Tamiya acrylics, and only have the saucer covered. And I wouldn't even say covered... it's more like, "Well, I have paint on it... it's blotchy and uneven, but at least it has paint on." If I had been painting with enamels and lacquers, it would not only be done by now, but it would be way more even, too. And it's not because it's too thin. I've taken down the ratio of how much alcohol I mix with the paint to the point where it's barely enough to keep it flowing through my airbrush, and it not only doesn't cover well, it also spatters and hits the model with gobs of paint that I have to stop and wipe off. This is my first time using acrylics with an airbrush, and it might be my last.

Is there some hidden secret to painting with acrylics that I'm missing? Or do they really suck this much compared to enamels and lacquers?
If a redhead works at a bakery, does that make him a gingerbread man?

Ponies defeat a Star Trek villain? Give them a Star Wars award ceremony!
geck

Post by geck »

Sounds like the paint may be drying too quickly before hitting the model and this is a problem with acrylics. I always use Tamiya's thinner with their paint. There are built in paint retarders that help with the issues you describe, plus there may be some other chemicals that just help the paint to go on smoother. You could try some commercial acrylic retarder as well, but I've never tried it. I've been moving away from using Tamiya paint for basecoats though. The paint...while good and resilient has a very limited color range and the colors are dark.