1:2500 Scale Enterprise B Question

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

dodmayhem

1:2500 Scale Enterprise B Question

Post by dodmayhem »

First off I want to say I am completely new to modeling. I have gotten into it recently and so far have stuck to the snap Round 2 Models and just using decals.

I am building this Excelsior class Enterprise now and I want to try my hand at painting. My question is just what kind of paint is best? I live in an apartment so I don't think I have anywhere good to use spray paint.

Other than that the kit doesn't really say if dull or gloss or what kind of paint it just gives the recommended colors.

I just want to know what would be a good place to star for a beginner. Paint types, colors, tools and whatnot.

Also, the model comes with the aztec water decals. I assume you paint the base coat first and apply the decals after it drys. Does setting solution have any negative effects on the paint after its dried?
zysurge

Post by zysurge »

You'll want to use gloss paints, as decals apply to those best. If you want a duller finish when you're all done, you can hit it with a clear flat coat.

Since it's an apartment, you'll probably want to stick with Acrylic paints, since those have less fumes to worry about.

Setting solution will not affet properly cured paint.
irishtrek

Post by irishtrek »

Also since acrylic paint tend not to stick to bare plastic you may want to get a bottle of Future floor polish for a primer because acrylic paints will stick to Future.
Normal?? What is normal??
dodmayhem

Post by dodmayhem »

I went to my local hobby shop and there is so many things to choose from. Will most paints actually say Gloss in the name? Or is there a particular brand that is known for it?
irishtrek

Post by irishtrek »