Beginner Airbrush Setup?

This is the place to get answers about painting, weathering and other aspects of finishing a model.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

Post Reply
hoth rebel
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:44 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by hoth rebel » Sat Aug 19, 2017 5:09 pm

Which would you recomend and why?
Thanks.

User avatar
DaveVan
Posts: 1811
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 10:53 pm
Location: Hills of West Virginia

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by DaveVan » Sat Aug 19, 2017 10:21 pm

Badger 250 base model. Easy to learn and use. I have more expensive units I use much less than the 250. Add to that you can find 250 clones for about $5 at tool stores......good to learn on. The 250 is super easy to keep clean...a big plus.
30,000 miles on Amtrak in words and pics...
http://www.currtail.com

hoth rebel
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:44 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by hoth rebel » Sun Aug 20, 2017 5:34 am

What about one that comes with a compressor?
Thanks.

EVApodman
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:37 am

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by EVApodman » Sun Aug 20, 2017 11:14 am

A compressor is a good idea. You can buy cans of compressed air but you will quickly find out that you are using several cans per model and the costs add up. So while a compressor may seem like a lot initially, it will save you money in the long run.

Also make sure to get a compressor with an inline filter to remove water from the line or else you will get water spatters coming out of your air brush. Been there, done that. That's why I went to compressed CO2 cylinders years ago. Again large initial cost but the benefits of a completely dry, silent and smooth air feed has been worth it.

But there are compressors with built in air tanks that are reasonable and work quite well if maintained.
"Nothing to do now but drink a beer and watch the universe die."
"Basically what I do everyday."

I AM Spartacus!
I'm Batman.

Don't believe everything you see on the Internet!- Abraham Lincoln

Oh my God!! It's full of plastic peanuts!

hoth rebel
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:44 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by hoth rebel » Mon Aug 21, 2017 11:12 am

Where did you get the c02 cylinder and fittings to use with the airbrush?

Robert S
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Jul 12, 2002 5:37 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by Robert S » Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:38 am

I just converted to CO2. I got my tank from a Fire Extinguisher place. You could also look at places that support home brewing. That is where I got my regulator (could have gotten the tank there as well but the other place was cheaper)

Welding supply also has the items but I find they are jerks

Tanks come in several sizes. I went with 5lb. They also come steel and aluminum. I preferred aluminum

For fittings I just used the barb that was on the regulator added some tubing and a quick disconnect from Home Depot

The place where you get your tank (unless you get it on the net) will either do swaps or fills for a reasonable price. Swaps are most common

I can provide some photos later if you like

Hth
Mal: Define "interesing"?
Wash: Oh god, Oh god, Were all going to die?
Robert

http://www.swartzer.com/writing/serenity2000.php

EVApodman
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:37 am

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by EVApodman » Tue Aug 22, 2017 3:43 pm

I got mine at a welding supply place over 20 years ago. You have to buy a regulator that will drop the 1400 PSI of the tank to a more usable level and an adapter that goes on the regulator that allows you to connect your 1/4" brass air hose line fitting to.
T
he regulator will also have some sort of indicator and adjustment valve that will allow you to vary your line pressure according to your needs. Acrylics typically need higher pressure than say metallics.

Also you will have to buy a tank of compressed CO2. Afterwards you can swap or fill this tank when empty for less than buying a new one. I just got my tank swapped and it cost me about $32.
"Nothing to do now but drink a beer and watch the universe die."
"Basically what I do everyday."

I AM Spartacus!
I'm Batman.

Don't believe everything you see on the Internet!- Abraham Lincoln

Oh my God!! It's full of plastic peanuts!

hoth rebel
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:44 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by hoth rebel » Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:25 pm

Thanks everyone.
I am going to get this set up https://www.amazon.com/Master-Performan ... ressor+kit

Which paint is easiest for a beginner?
I have access to most all brand names locally.
Do I need to thin the paints before spraying?

User avatar
Lt. Z0mBe
Posts: 7176
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 1:46 pm
Location: Balltown Kentucky, by God!
Contact:

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by Lt. Z0mBe » Wed Aug 23, 2017 12:13 pm

hoth rebel wrote:
Tue Aug 22, 2017 6:25 pm


Which paint is easiest for a beginner?

Do I need to thin the paints before spraying?
1.) Start out with the acrylic brands due to their ease of cleanup. They're all about equal. Some have proprietary thinners that must be used while others can use distilled water, Windex or isopropanol.
2.) Yes. The old "skim milk consistency" rule works as a good starting point.

Also, you might check out the Basics Airbrushing thread in this forum. I think it will answer most of your questions.

Hope this helps.

Kenny

www.sigmalabsinc.com


Onward, proud eagle, to thee the cloud must yield.

hoth rebel
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:44 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by hoth rebel » Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:03 pm

Thanks.
I have seen a brand named Model Air. Anyone know if those a good to go right out of the bottle?

User avatar
Lt. Z0mBe
Posts: 7176
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 1:46 pm
Location: Balltown Kentucky, by God!
Contact:

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by Lt. Z0mBe » Thu Aug 24, 2017 12:52 pm

hoth rebel wrote:
Wed Aug 23, 2017 5:03 pm
Thanks.
I have seen a brand named Model Air. Anyone know if those a good to go right out of the bottle?
Those are Vallejo's ready-to-airbrush line. They are generally good to go. If not, add a bit of Vallejo's thinner or distilled water.

Kenny

www.sigmalabsinc.com


Onward, proud eagle, to thee the cloud must yield.

hoth rebel
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:44 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by hoth rebel » Thu Aug 24, 2017 3:09 pm

Thanks.
I think I will try those first.

hoth rebel
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:44 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by hoth rebel » Sat Aug 26, 2017 4:34 pm

I haven't bought a setup yet as now I am wondering if a single action gravity feed would be better for me.
What are the pros and cons of a single action?
Thanks.

gsb5w
Posts: 1420
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 6:48 pm
Location: Sumter, SC

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by gsb5w » Sat Aug 26, 2017 7:22 pm

I've never had a single action. Only two double actions.

EVApodman
Posts: 2193
Joined: Sat Sep 30, 2006 8:37 am

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by EVApodman » Sun Aug 27, 2017 11:24 am

A single action only allows you to vary the amount of paint that is going on the model. Badger makes cheap beginner spray kits that are like this.

A double action allows you to vary both the paint flow and the air pressure at the same time. This can give you some great effects but does require a bit of practice to master. It's like learning to pat your head while rubbing your stomach.

Double actions are typically more expensive than single actions and require greater care and cleaning. But most modelers after using a single action for a few years move up to the double.
"Nothing to do now but drink a beer and watch the universe die."
"Basically what I do everyday."

I AM Spartacus!
I'm Batman.

Don't believe everything you see on the Internet!- Abraham Lincoln

Oh my God!! It's full of plastic peanuts!

hoth rebel
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Dec 06, 2010 7:44 pm
Location: U.S.A.

Re: Beginner Airbrush Setup?

Post by hoth rebel » Sun Aug 27, 2017 12:47 pm

Thanks.
I will stick with the set up I chose and if I have a hard time with double action I can always but a single action later.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests