How to go about adding extra greebles/chips to your models?

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

muir318

How to go about adding extra greebles/chips to your models?

Post by muir318 »

Hello again all,

I saw a post on here where a builder was adding extra greebles/Chips?(this is what they called them on the forum post anyway) to his star destroyer!Basically adding small parts and detail to the kit before painting etc!
I thought it look fantastic and it would be something i would like to have a go at doing with mine!
As i am completely new at modeling what tools and supplies etc would i need for the greebles to do this and what is the basic principle of actually adding them to the model?

Thanks in advance for all answers!
Tankmodeler

Post by Tankmodeler »

Well, the adding them part is easy, just glue them on with a glue that is compatible with both parts. If everything is styrene plastic (like most model kits) then regular liquid cement does the job. Otherwise there are a range of glues for different materials.

The tougher thing is where to get the greeblies in the first place. For those of us who have been building since Jesus was a small boy, then we all have deep parts boxes full of everything that we ever bought and never threw out plus a lot of stuff collected along the way specifically to be extra details. I have a wall full of the stuff plus several modest boxes of old built kits and salvaged parts form all kinds of things, from coputers to toasters to kids electronics. A lot of the vehciles you see in the movies were built using parts taken from plastic tank and warship kits. Many of us can look at the actual movie props of many pre-CGI ships and tell exactly which parts of which kits we're seeing in the small details.