New model builder with a dumb question for you all!

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

muir318

New model builder with a dumb question for you all!

Post by muir318 »

Hello guys,
I havent built a model since i was around 13 years old and i am now hitting 40!
I am a huge fan of star wars and i have bought a few star wars kits to start me back into model building!!
I want to spend a lot of time on my models and will be looking for hints and tips etc on here regarding weathering and paints and general bulding etc etc in the future ,
Now this is a dumb question i know but as i said i am new to it all..
My question is..
When your using cement/glue on your models do you apply it to the whole rim of the parts being cemented or apply it only to the pins and holes on the model for fitting it together?
Rocketeer

Post by Rocketeer »

Depends. If you plan to paint your model, you'll want to eliminate the seams between pieces (like the seam between the two halves of a rocket body, for instance). In that case, you would apply glue all around the part. Usually you'd use liquid cement (comes in bottle with brush in cap); hold the two halves together and apply cement to the seam with the brush; capillary action will carry the cement into the seam. If the cement goes astray and mars the surface of the plastic, it doesn't matter because you were going to paint the model anyway.
Then you would fill any remaining seam with putty, sand, prime, examine and re-putty if necessary, re-prime, repeat as necessary, then paint.

But if you don't plan to paint the model or it's prepainted, I'd use tube glue (comes in the old-style toothpaste-type tube) sparingly applied to the pins and here and there along the seam.