Off topic resin question

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

Ti Raven

Off topic resin question

Post by Ti Raven »

Hi folks.
This is a bit of an odd or off topic question.
I need a casting resin for the top layer of coasters. The resin that I have been using for several years is EasyCast Clear Casting Epoxy.
It is a 1 to 1 mix, crystal clear and only once have I messed it up.

The only difficulty is the coasters shouldn't have too hot of a mug put on them.
Cold through moderately warm is o.k. But if I put a fairly hot cup of coffee on it, esp.
if it has those nubby bottoms, there be dimples afterwards.
If the day itself is hot, this happens more frequently-with cooler mugs.
These dimples have always slooooly disapered, but they vex me anyways.

Brands to stay away from as well as good brands would be very helpful.
Thanks!
Tanya
* Joyously Celebrating the Mysteries of Chocolate
*Artistically Whimsical
macfrank

Post by macfrank »

Tanya,
If the coasters aren't too big or too deep, you could use drug store acrylic nail repair acrylic. It's stinky and fairly expensive stuff, but won't be affected by mug temperatures.

Alumilite sells a clear resin (also 1:1). the results are hard and also fairly temperature resistant. Unfortunately, you have to heat up the molds for best results and the resin will set in less than 5 minutes, so you'll get bubbles unless you degas the stuff or pressure cast it (or both).

I would avoid Envirotex, since it sounds a lot like the stuff you're using. Envirotex never gets very hard.

Another option might be fiberglass resin, without the fiberglass. That should be pretty clear in small amounts.

Frank
Go Flight

Post by Go Flight »

There's a clear, thick epoxy resin that they put on bar tops. Once cured it shouldn't be marked by a hot mug.
Where I work, we used it for 3 of our kitchen tables.
Ti Raven

Post by Ti Raven »