3D printed models

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

Dobber

3D printed models

Post by Dobber »

I’m new to the world of 3D printed models. I have a couple of questions:

1) Do they need to be washed before priming, they way a Resin kit does?

2) Do they sand well? Or will it require a course sand paper?

Thanks

Chris
"What the hell is an alluminum falcon?!"

".....if your hand touches metal, I swear by my pretty floral bonnet that I will end you." - Malcom Reynolds
SpaceRanger1

Re: 3D printed models

Post by SpaceRanger1 »

Here's some advice from the "Model Monkey" website (https://modelmonkey.wixsite.com/modelmonkey; Model Monkey designs and sells Shapeways 3D printed parts for model warships):

2. What kind of glue should I use?
Choose a glue that is specifically intended for the material your model is printed in. For "Frosted Detail" plastic, Cyanoacrylate (CA) "superglue" works best. But please be aware that superglue remover can melt the plastic. Testors liquid or tube cement won't work. Testors cement works best for polystyrene plastic but these 3D-printed parts are made of either acrylic plastic or nylon.

3. Should I clean the parts before painting?
Leave your parts in the plastic bag, uncleaned, until you need them. Clean your parts with a mild water-based detergent like "Dawn", "Fairy", "Neophos", "Sun", "Sunlight", "Joy", or "Vim" dishwashing liquid, baby shampoo (no conditioner), or "Simple Green" using an old, soft toothbrush, Q-tips or pipe cleaners. Do NOT use any cleaner, primer, paint or thinner containing acetone, acetate or methyl ethyl ketone (MEK). Frosted Detail plastic may be sensitive to prolonged oxygen exposure. Paint your "Frosted Detail" products soon after cleaning them.

4. I heard that I have to sit the parts in sunlight for a while before I paint them. Is that true?