Will vinyl and styrene glue together??

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

aussie cylon

Will vinyl and styrene glue together??

Post by aussie cylon »

Hi guys, I'm about to chop off the head of a vinyl figure and stick it onto a styrene body. I've never done this before, so my question is, which glue do I use? And how strong will the bond be?
SpaceRanger1

Re: Will vinyl and styrene glue together??

Post by SpaceRanger1 »

I know of nothing that will permanently bond vinyl to styrene. Contact cement, epoxy, and white glue (PVA) might temporarily bond them, but the bond will be very weak. You could try splicing the two together by means of a wood dowel, then camouflaging the joint somehow. Silicone adhesive might work, or even plumber's cement, but nothing much bonds to vinyl.
Michael McMurtrey
IPMS-USA #1746
IPMS-Canada #1426
Carrollton, TX

"Yup, exactly what SpaceRanger1 is saying. 100%" — seashark
TazMan2000

Post by TazMan2000 »

Loctite Vinyl, Fabric and Plastic Adhesive might work, but I've never tried it myself. I'm not sure you would be able to sand the seam, so perhaps you can cover it up.

TazMan2000
Richard Baker

Post by Richard Baker »

Gorilla Glue may work but be wary- it is water activated and expands a bit when cured
"The future is not what it used to be" - G'Kar

Things go wrong and bad things happen- that is just the way the world is-
It is how you deal with it that tells the world who you truly are.

“Censorship is telling a man he can’t have a steak just because a baby can’t chew it.” -Mark Twain

Deviant Art Gallery-
http://phaedrus-3.deviantart.com/
Lt. Z0mBe

Post by Lt. Z0mBe »

Here's how I would handle this:

1.) Sink a dowel in some Aves in the body.

2.) Trim the excess from around the neck and allow it to cure. The figure should look like a dowelhead at this point