3d printing

Got a question about techniques, materials or other aspects of physically building a model? This is the place to ask.

Moderators: DasPhule, Moderators

saleem

3d printing

Post by saleem »

for someone with absolutely no knowledge of 3d printing,how easy/hard is this to learn/pickup?

i know its basicly a cnc type machine that squirts (for want of a word) resin and lays it down to create an object.

from other people who might have a 3d printer how easy is it to pick up,use a pc/prog to design things and tell the printer what to do?

any good sites i can go to that i might learn from?
:)
G-man

Post by G-man »

The short answer.
I have 16 years experience in 3d design using multiple programs.
I still learn new stuff eery day.

ALOT of thought goes into every kit i pattern, you have to understand what goes into breakgin a kit down, as well as how to properly prototype on teh computer, you have to useder stand holding and casting. You have to know how to make the model economical for prototyping once completed on the computer.
Plus most programs don't allow you to model a perfectly useable mesh from the start, so you have to know how to use other programs to clean up and optimize the mesh for prototyping.
Can you dive in and do it in a few months time. Sure, you can do anything like that.
Can you do it, and turn out a quality prototype with great fit and amazing surface details?..Probably not.