Help fixing the angle on a warp pylon?

The place to discuss all aspects of building models from scratch.

Moderators: Joseph C. Brown, Moderators

Pandaphil

Help fixing the angle on a warp pylon?

Post by Pandaphil »

Okay, before I say anything else, this is my very first attempt at a serious scratchbuild that doesn't use existing parts. Its mainly just an 'I'm bored' project , so I guess it won't be the end of the world if I end up chucking it all in the parts bin.
I don't have any facy tools other than eyeball's a ruler, a straight edge and modelling tools.

I'm trying to do a Chandley-style starship design with wing mounted warp engines. It looks fine from above,

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-7/276900/top.jpg

but the problem is the side view, where the engines will tilt down at an angle.
http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-7/276900/side.jpg

It seems like just slicing off a wedge from the wingtip will fix the side problem, but then from above, the engines will tilt inward. I suppose warping the wings might work, but trimming seems like it should do the trick. Any suggestions?
"I'm not a psychopath Anderson, I'm a high-functioning sociopath. Do your research!" -Sherlock Holmes
ajmadison

Post by ajmadison »

The trick to getting your warp nacelles to be parallel to the center axis of your starship, you need the ends of your pylons to be parallel to the center axis of the ship.

To make that happen, you should first set up the nacelle end of the pylons where you want them, and coax the other end so it attaches to the ship. This may require some shims or some sort of "gull wing" bits so the ship mounts of the pylon attach where you want them to on the primary hull.

The other alternative are pylons with a twist to them, since the ship mount attachment point is not parallel to the center axis to the ship, and you want the nacelle ends to be parallel to the center axis of the ship.
naoto

Post by naoto »