Is out of box kitbuilding so hard?

The place to discuss all aspects of building models from scratch.

Moderators: Joseph C. Brown, Moderators

incrediblefruit

Post by incrediblefruit »

I've been scratchbuilding and kitbashing for so many years now that I find building a straightforward out of box kit quite difficult.

I recently got hold of a FM 1/48 X-Wing and would like to do it stock as it's a nice kit that doesn't really need much doing to it but i'm finding it hard as when scratchbuilding you follow your own rules but with a kit you have to do it a little more according to a plan or at least that's how I see it or maybe it's just because i'm a little out of practice with kits, who knows.

Does anybody else have this problem?
Last edited by incrediblefruit on Wed May 20, 2009 10:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
I now live in a deep dark cave with a 2'x3' worksurface in the kitchen, so pity me please.

http://incrediblefruit.googlepages.com/home
STAREMPIREUS

Post by STAREMPIREUS »

I can not just build out of box . I either see what it could be or what it isn't .

Mostly after seeing what you guys an gals do .

:shock:
Zombie Bunnies !!!
Horrible ... Hideous ... Fluffy
puddingwrestler

Post by puddingwrestler »

I can build OOB, but only with difficulty, and only when I want to build quickly. Also, I can only seem to do it with ww2 aircraft...
There are no good kits, bad kits or grail kits, just kitbash fodder.
3d-builder

Post by 3d-builder »

:D I totally understand after scratch-building for 10 plus years, building a kit is hard!!! :D
Rocketeer

Post by Rocketeer »

I don't like to build straight out of the box--I prefer to put my own spin on things. OOB stands for Omigod Overly Boring. :D
Kylwell

Post by Kylwell »

Having won several awards for my OOB or near OOB builds, all I have to say is you're obviously not building the right kind of models.
Abolish Alliteration
en'til Zog

Post by en'til Zog »