Enlarging a kit through scratchbuilding

The place to discuss all aspects of building models from scratch.

Moderators: Joseph C. Brown, Moderators

Whiteraven_2001

Enlarging a kit through scratchbuilding

Post by Whiteraven_2001 »

I'm thinking about doing this for an anime-style armored vehicle. Its current scale is 1/72; I'd like to create a 1/35, and I'm trying to wrap my head around the process, as I've never done it before. Can anyone perhaps provide or point me to an example?

I really wish I'd bought the blueprinting book that was available a couple years ago. It'd be a great help, I'm sure.
Kylwell

Post by Kylwell »

Well, for one you have to multiply your measurements by 2.05714286. The big trik, that I know of, is accurate measurements. A good caliper is your friend. Just remember that calipers are only accurate to a few decimal places so measuring 2 or 3 times & averaging (on your original) is the best bet.

Measure, draft, cut, measure the final piece.

Yes, if anyone nearby has the Model Design & Blueprinting Handbook I'd borrow it.
Abolish Alliteration
Joseph C. Brown

Post by Joseph C. Brown »

I've been working on a monstrous project that takes a 1/500 scale shuttle-type vehicle and enlarges it to 1/72, and then again to 1/48 scales.

Use the various scale conversion programs to determine what sizes you'll be working to, and create some good illustrations that can be enlarged to the final sizes.

Build to match the drawings, and that's essentially it. Easy to say, but the doing takes a while indeed...
:8)
________
Joe Brown
macfrank

Post by macfrank »

Chuck's Modeler's Notebook page is still around. Email him to see if he has any copies left, or when it'll be reprinted. There's one on Amazon for $149 and change... which is just nuts.

If you have the 1/72 model in hand, you can use a contour gauge to get a cross section at various points that you can then trace or scan in, then scale up to 1/35.
Chacal