The best Glue for the Job

The place to discuss all aspects of building models from scratch.

Moderators: Joseph C. Brown, Moderators

Geo-man

The best Glue for the Job

Post by Geo-man »

hi
im currently scratch building a T-47 snowspeeder (this is my first one) and was wondering what the best glue fro sticking down flat panels is.
im using card to build it as im on a budget.
any suggestions??
cheers
Sluis Van Shipyards

Post by Sluis Van Shipyards »

If it's just styrene I always use superglue.
Newbie Doobie

Post by Newbie Doobie »

Superglue gel. Bob Smith industries brand is what I've been using for twenty years plus now! O:) This is in the magenta bottle. Works great! :wink:
Dr. Yo

Post by Dr. Yo »

By "card" do you mean styrene sheet, or cardboard? If its the
former, I'd use a thin styrene cement, like testors or tamiya.
If its cardboard ( that is, paper ) I'd suggest either contact
cement or some form of white glue.
Superglue has its uses, but unless you've got an absolutely steady
hand, or use jigs, I wouldn't use it for flat panels-too much risk
of mis-alignment, and once its down, its staying there.
"Semper fiendish"-Wen Yo
Kylwell

Post by Kylwell »

I'm guessing by card you mean card-stock/cardboard/paper. Plain old white glue can be used for a lot of work but for quick glue go with a thicker CA. Mercury Adhesives is the best of the CA brands but will probably be a little tough to find in the UK.
Abolish Alliteration
Owen E Oulton

Post by Owen E Oulton »

I note the OP lists his location as UK, so he's almost certainly talking about sheet styrene. Personally I like to use Testor's liquid cement for this. Just don't use too much on thin sheet. thin superglue would be my second choice, the Bob Smith blue label stuff.
...Only the dead dreams of a cold war kid...
Lt. Z0mBe

Post by Lt. Z0mBe »

I use CA glue to tack styrene card down around curves. In flat areas, I just use styrene cement.

Kenny

www.sigmalabsinc.com